Sri Aurobindo birth anniversary: Acknowledging his finest books ever

A philosopher, poet, yogi, and nationalist, Sri Aurobindo was one of the most talented and celebrated authors in India during his time. He has written some powerful books that can help one awaken their spiritual self with his thought-provoking ideas and thoughts. As August 15 is observed as his birth anniversary, let’s pay homage to him by revisiting his best books ever.

‘The Secret of the Veda’

This book is Sri Aurobindo’s interpretation of the ancient Vedas. He uses the knowledge that he acquired through spiritual practices to present a psychological view of the Vedic hymns. Readers have it that the book offers the real and correct meaning behind Vedas that have long been misinterpreted. All in all, the vivid descriptions make it a spectacular read.

‘The Life Divine’

The Life Divine is touted as one of the best books written by Aurobindo as it offers a beautiful preview of what is to come in human evolution. Although challenging and complicated, each stanza of this book will have you chucking your preconceived notions about the evolution of consciousness and the meaning of life. Get ready for a ride into the depths of spirituality.

‘Savitri: A Legend and a Symbol’

Through Savitri: A Legend and a Symbol, a spiritual poem, Aurobindo conveys that our life on earth has a purpose and meaning. He wrote this book in exalted Samadhic states (elevated states of meditation) over the course of many years. Those who have read it often share that they transcended to higher levels of spirituality, one page at a time.

‘The Synthesis of Yoga’ 

If you are into yoga or willing to indulge in it, this book by Aurobindo is the perfect musing for you. It tells how yoga can foster spiritual advancement and what was its origin. Additionally, readers believe that this book is no less than a blueprint illuminating the path to transcend human limitations and embrace their higher, divine self.

‘The Human Cycle’

This book is an amalgamation of various texts written by Aurobindo during his lifetime. It comprises three sections namely – The Human Cycle, The Ideal of Human Unity, and War and Self-Determination. The essays in them date back to 1915 and reveal the deep spiritual insights of India. Overall, it is a great read. Check out more such book recommendations.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *